23 februari 2013 - 11:51

Pieter Steijger’s first full-length release shines a light on his distinctive approach to techno.

Dutch DJ, producer and label head Pieter Steijger starts the New Year with a fantastic album that is sure to find a place in the album collection of many techno lovers. Luminosity is a 10-track treat for those who like their tech with a splash of house, a dash of funk and plenty of good percussion.

Like all top techno albums, the tracks work in harmony to create the overall journey. Critical moments include Interlude, with its laid-back piano grooves and downtempo vibe, which at the album’s centre is a signpost towards the record’s deeper elements.

Melody is key, as witnessed in Wait For Me’s playful syncopation over a funky, whistled top line and the subtle woodwind in Elements of Life.

Pieter Steijger assuredly matches the verve and pace of his beats with great instrumental flavours to create a well-rounded and thoroughly enjoyable set.

Pieter Steijger previously released a handful of tracks on the Frameworx Music imprint he founded in 2009. Releases like Get Some and Pseudoniem established this placid producer’s signature style – accessible techno that tilts its hat to the classic stylings of the Chicago and Detroit scenes. Alongside these, he also released several records through highly influential Amsterdam label 90Watts and the UK-based Global Underground.

His tracks have received support from a long list of leading DJs: Kevin Saunderson, Shlomi Aber, Gregor Tresher, Saeed Younan, Pig & Dan, Wally Lopez, Joan Ribas, Edwin Oosterwal, Bart Skils, Michel de Hey, David Vendetta and Tom Novy.

His approach to business is as incisive as his approach to music production. His label, Frameworx Music, on which this album is released, is a shining example of using a flexible business model and a well-defined niche to create success. He describes the label as a ‘multidisciplinary platform for contemporary dance music and its creative culture,’ providing services from distribution and management through to marketing for their artists.

He also recently announced that he is joining Ministry of Sound’s Global Underground radio show as a presenter alongside longstanding collaborator Sander Young.


01 Pieter Steijger – Luminosity
02 Pieter Steijger – Meanwhile
03 Pieter Steijger – Elements Of Life
04 Pieter Steijger – Perception
05 Pieter Steijger – Crossing Boundaries
06 Pieter Steijger – Interlude
07 Pieter Steijger – Unconscious
08 Pieter Steijger – Wait For Me
09 Pieter Steijger – Mind Of The Machine
10 Pieter Steijger – Eyes Wide

Pieter Steijger – Luminosity is out from today on Frameworx Music and available at iTunes ( and all other online music retailers.
Pieter Steijger – Luminosity album preview:

Geen comments

Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *